Everything Was Ok

You told me everything was ok;

You told me all was fine.

You said I carried your heart in my hand

And that you were holding mine.

But hearts, you know, are difficult things,

They’re always changing size.

A heart can change in a matter of seconds

And take you by surprise.

A single act of kindness

Can cause a heart to grow,

Just like a single situation

Can alter what you know.

When my heart slipped from your fingers

And shattered on the ground,

I never thought I could recover,

Never thought I’d come around.

But I pulled my heart together

And discovered what was true:

You dropped and broke my heart, my dear,

Because it was just too big for you.

Leave a Reply

